top of page


Site Editor


Dr. W. Jason Miller (Professor, North Carolina State University)



Content Creators

Kristina Beek

Kacey Cooper

Jennifer Curry

Corey Foard

Hannah Gatlin

Isaac Green

Austin Horne

Madison Lloyd

Lauren McKenzie

Madeline Preiss

Kelli Pryor

Xavier Searle

Garrett Simco

Maya Sinclair

Shelby Weisburg



Content Editor


Carolin Benack



Site Construction


Patrick Elliott


Research Assistants

Sara Pinkowski (Lead Assistant)

Savannah Kirchner

Anne Marie Mullis

Mandy Stacy


Funding provided by NC State University, Provost Professional Experience Program (2020-22).


Special thanks to Asheville Citizen-Times, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Barbara Drier (Black Mountain College), Mary Burnette (Allen High School), Thomas Calder (Mountain Xpress), Nadine Cohodas, Forsyth County Library, Lisa Y. Henderson (Black Wide Awake), Elizabeth Jenkins & Tammy Medlin (Wilson County Public Library), Heather South (Western Regional Archives), Mark Tulbert (NC State Director of Arts Marketing), and Todd Kosmerick (NC State University Archivist and Interim 

Associate Head of Special Collections).

bottom of page